Clare Samuel Malcom

Date(s): Feb 4 to Mar 11 2023

Location: Petite galerie

Exhibition

Malcom

Clare Samuel, You Should Burn Your Hair After Cutting itMalcolm, 2022 

Malcolm is an evolving project of photographs, video, and installation elements, in which Clare Samuel explores the life and death of her father. Malcolm lived with a diagnosis of schizophrenia and repeated periods of medical ‘non-compliance’. He was in many ways a difficult parent to have. But he also had a gleeful sense of humour, was passionate about ecology and astronomy, and insisted space travel was imperative for our species’ survival due to global warming.

Made of fragments, the project is a cosmology of a person, Samuel’s attempt to know her father better, and to examine how a relationship changes after death. The work also tells suppressed stories of ‘mad’ experience as advocated by the burgeoning Consumer/Survivor/X-inmate movement and the academic field of Mad Studies.

(+) Read more
Malcom

Clare Samuel, You Should Burn Your Hair After Cutting itMalcolm, 2022 

Clare Samuel is a visual artist, writer, and educator originally from Northern Ireland, now living as a settler in Tkaronto. She holds a BFA in Photography from Toronto Metropolitan University and an MFA from Concordia University. Her work focuses on connection and distance between the Self and Other, as well as notions of social division, borders, and belonging. Spanning mediums such as photography, video, text and installation, her projects are often a dialogue with the idea of portraiture.  

Clare has exhibited and screened internationally, most recently at A Space Gallery and The Varley Art Gallery. Her images and writing have appeared in publications such as Prefix Photo, BlackFlash and Border Crossings. She teaches at OCADU, Toronto Metropolitan University and University of Toronto. She is a founding member and co-director of Feminist Photography Network, a nexus for research on the relationship between feminism and lens-based media. 

claresamuel.com

Clare Samuel Malcom

Date(s) : 4 fév au 11 mar 2023

Lieu : Petite galerie

Exposition

Malcom

Clare Samuel, You Should Burn Your Hair After Cutting itMalcolm, 2022 

Malcolm est un projet en constante évolution fait de photographies, de vidéos et d’éléments d’installation, dans lequel Clare Samuel explore la vie et la mort de son père. Malcolm a vécu avec un diagnostic de schizophrénie et des périodes répétées de « non-conformité » médicale. À bien des égards, il était un parent difficile à vivre. Il avait aussi un grand sens de l’humour, se passionnait pour l’écologie et l’astronomie et était convaincu que les voyages dans l’espace étaient indispensables à la survie de notre espèce en raison du réchauffement climatique.

(+) Lire plus
Malcom

Clare Samuel, You Should Burn Your Hair After Cutting itMalcolm, 2022 

Clare Samuel est une artiste visuelle, écrivaine et éducatrice originaire d’Irlande du Nord, qui est aujourd’hui établie à Tkaronto comme colonisatrice. Elle est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en photographie de l’Université métropolitaine de Toronto et d’une maîtrise en beaux-arts de l’Université Concordia. Son travail porte sur la connexion et la distance entre le Soi et l’Autre, ainsi que sur les notions de division sociale, de frontières et d’appartenance. Utilisant des médiums tels que la photographie, la vidéo, le texte et l’installation, ses projets entrent souvent en dialogue avec l’idée du portrait. 

Clare a exposé et présenté ses œuvres à l’échelle internationale, plus récemment à la galerie A Space et à la Varley Art Gallery. Ses images et ses textes ont été publiés entre autres dans les magazines Prefix Photo, BlackFlash et Border Crossings. Elle enseigne à l’OCADU, à l’Université métropolitaine de Toronto et à l’Université de Toronto. Elle est membre fondatrice et codirectrice du Feminist Photography Network, un réseau de recherche sur la relation entre le féminisme et les médias basés sur l’objectif.  

claresamuel.com