Christof Migone Chloë Lum et Yannick Desranleau I

Date(s): Dec 12th 2022 6:00 PM

Event

I

Christof Migone, 202

Chloe Lum and Yannick Desranleau present an hour of online videos for Christof Migone’s project: You And I Are Water Earth Fire Air Of Life And Death. The project, which spans a period of 12 years, is in its third installment, the third word in the phrase: I.

After learning about all the steps involved in making whisky during a three-month artist residency with Marla Hlady at the Glenfiddich Distillery in Scotland in the summer of 2019, Migone was struck by how inadequate the word “whisky” (whose root means “alcohol – brandy”) is, as it only captures a small part of the manufacturing process. The resulting 12-word corrective phrase, You And I Are Water Earth Fire Air Of Life And Death, evolved into a 12-year project, with each year focusing on one word in the phrase and manifesting in an annual 12-hour event on December 12 from noon to midnight. You (2020), And (2021), I (2022), and so on. The project, originally a modest text, has evolved into a sprawling curatorial project that has so far featured 53 artists from 10 countries on 4 continents.

I

Christof Migone, 202

Christof Migone is an artist, teacher, curator, and writer. He obtained an MFA from NSCAD in 1996 and a PhD from the Department of Performance Studies at the Tisch School of the Arts of New York University in 2007. In 2006, the Galerie de l’UQAM in Montreal presented a mid-career survey of his work titled Trou. A book compiling his writings on sound art, Sonic Somatic: Performances of the Unsound Body was published in 2012 by Errant Bodies Press. 

christofmigone.com

Chloë Lum & Yannick Desranleau are installation artists who work across video, performance, sculpture, sound, text, and photography. Their collaborative practice is rooted in the theatrical and choreographic, and examines the slippery and complex relationships between bodies and inanimate objects. Since several years, these subjects are examined through the lens of chronic illness. They are based in Tiohtiá:ke (Montréal) and have worked collaboratively since 2000.

Christof Migone Chloë Lum et Yannick Desranleau I

Date(s) : 12 déc 2022 18 h 00

Événement

I

Christof Migone, 2022

Chloe Lum et Yannick Desranleau présentent, dans le cadre du projet de Christof Migone, You And I Are Water Earth Fire Air Of Life And Death, des vidéos diffusés en ligne. Le projet de Migone, qui s’étale sur une période de 12 ans, en est à son troisième volet, dédié au troisième mot de la phrase du titre : I.

Après la découverte de toutes les étapes de la fabrication du whisky lors d’une résidence d’artiste de trois mois avec Marla Hlady à la distillerie Glenfiddich, en Écosse, à l’été 2019, Migone a été frappé de constater à quel point le mot « whisky » (dont la racine signifie « alcool – eau de vie ») est inadéquat, car il ne rend compte que d’une petite partie du processus de fabrication. La phrase corrective de 12 mots qui en a résulté, You And I Are Water Earth Fire Air Of Life And Death, a évolué en un projet de 12 ans, chaque année se concentrant sur un mot de la phrase et se manifestant par un événement annuel de 12 heures le 12 décembre de midi à minuit. You (2020), And (2021), I (2022), et ainsi de suite. Le projet, à l’origine un texte modeste, s’est transformé en un projet de commissariat tentaculaire qui a jusqu’à présent présenté 53 artistes de 10 pays sur 4 continents.

I

Christof Migone, 2022

Christof Migone est artiste, enseignant, commissaire et écrivain. Il a obtenu une maitrise en beaux-arts du NSCAD en 1996 et un doctorat du Department of Performance Studies de la Tisch School of the Arts de l’Université de New York en 2007. En 2006, la Galerie de l’UQAM à Montréal a présenté une exposition monographique intitulée Trou survolant les premières années de sa carrière. Un livre compilant ses écrits sur l’art sonore, Sonic Somatic: Performances of the Unsound Body, a été publié en 2012 par Errant Bodies. 

christofmigone.com

Chloë Lum et Yannick Desranleau sont des artistes d’installation qui travaillent avec la vidéo, la performance, la sculpture, le son, le texte et la photographie. Leur pratique collaborative est ancrée dans le théâtre et la chorégraphie, et examine les relations glissantes et complexes entre les corps et les objets inanimés. Depuis plusieurs années, ces sujets sont abordés sous l’angle de la maladie chronique. Ils sont basés à Tiohtiá:ke (Montréal) et travaillent en collaboration depuis 2000.