Richard Chartier Monique Jean Nathan McNinch Curator: France Jobin Immerson 2

Date(s): Nov 17th 2011 6:00 PM
Nov 18th 2011 6:00 PM

Location:

Studio 01

Event

Event: Richard Chartier, Monique Jean & Nathan McNinchImmerson 2, 2011. Photo: Eddie Rodgers

Immerson 2 is a concert event/philosophy initiated by France Jobin which proposes to create a listening environment dedicated to an enhanced experience by focusing on the physical comfort of the audience through a specifically designed space. The premise for Immerson 2 is to seek out/explore new perceptions and experiences of the listening process by pushing the notion of “immersion” to its limits. A consuming evening of minimal sound art in which both artists and audience are drawn into the same heights and depths of the sonic/emotional spectrum. This sound art is felt as well as heard.

(+) Read more

Event: Richard Chartier, Monique Jean & Nathan McNinchImmerson 2, 2011. Photo: Eddie Rodgers

Richard Chartier, sound and installation artist, is considered one of the key figures in the current of reductionist electronic sound art which has been termed both “microsound” and “Neo-Modernism”.

3particles.com

Monique Jean lives and works in Montreal. An electroacoustic and sound artist, she is interested in the tensions, ruptures and clashes of sonic matter that produce a transmutation of the real into the poetic. This search for an organic substance takes various forms: stereo or multitrack electroacoustic pieces, musique mixte with live processing, sound installation (Point d’attaches ou les infidélités rotatives) and performance with the Theresa Transistor collective.

theresatransistor.ca

Nathan McNinch is a consummate tinkerer who on occasion makes art and music. He has released sound works for a handful of independent record labels and produced for a variety of media.

petitesono.com

France Jobin is an audio / installation artist, composer and curator. Her audio art, qualified as “sound sculpture”, distinguishes itself in a minimalist approach of complex sound environments at the intersection of analog and digital. She participates in festivals, as well as presents installations and events internationally. Jobin has produced numerous solo albums with renowned labels such as ROOM40 (AU), LINE (US), popmuzik records and ATAK (JP).  France Jobin was a Sonic Arts Awards 2014 finalist in the category Sonic Research.

francejobin.com

Richard Chartier Monique Jean Nathan McNinch Commissaire : France Jobin Immerson 2

Date(s) : 17 nov 2011 18 h 00
18 nov 2011 18 h 00

Lieu :

Studio 01

Événement

Événement : Richard Chartier, Monique Jean & Nathan McNinch, Immerson 2, 2011. Photo : Eddie Rodgers

Immerson 2 est un concert événementiel et philosophique initié par France Jobin, qui propose la création d’un environnement d’écoute consacré à une expérience intensifiée en portant son attention sur le confort physique du public grâce à un espace conçu spécialement à cet effet. Le principe qui sous-tend Immerson 2 cherche/explore de nouvelles perceptions et expériences du processus d’écoute en poussant la notion d’“ immersion ” le plus loin possible. Une soirée “ dévorante ” d’art sonore minimal lors de laquelle les artistes et le public sont tous deux attirés par les mêmes sommets et profondeurs du spectre sonore/émotionnel. Cet art sonore est ressenti autant qu’il est entendu.

(+) Lire plus

Événement : Richard Chartier, Monique Jean & Nathan McNinch, Immerson 2, 2011. Photo : Eddie Rodgers

Richard Chartier artiste du son et de l’installation, est considéré comme l’une des figures clés dans le mouvement d’art sonore électronique réductionniste, qu’on qualifie à la fois de “ micro-son ” et de “ néo-modernisme ”.

3particles.com

Monique Jean vit et travaille à Montréal. Électroacousticienne et artiste sonore, elle s’intéresse aux tensions, fractures et chocs des matières sonores afin de parvenir à une transmutation du réel vers le poétique. Cette recherche d’un matériau organique prend diverses formes : pièces électroacoustiques en stéréo ou en multipiste, musiques mixtes avec traitements en temps réel, installation sonore (Point d’attaches ou les infidélités rotatives) et performance, avec le collectif d’improvisation Theresa Transistor.

theresatransistor.ca

Nathan McNinch est un bricoleur passionné qui, à l’occasion, fait de l’art et de la musique. Il a produit des œuvres sonores pour une poignée de labels indépendants et divers autres médiums.

petitesono.com

France Jobin est artiste audio / installation, compositeure et commissaire. Son art audio, qualifié de « sculpture sonore », se distingue par une approche minimaliste d’environnements sonores complexes à l’intersection de l’analogue et du numérique. Elle participe à des festivals, présente des installations et évènements à l’échelle internationale.

francejobin.com