Rolf Julius Nicole Gingras Distance

Date(s): Sep 19 to Oct 24 2009

Exhibition

R. Julius, 2005

Since the 1970’s, Rolf Julius has been developing a series of aesthetic propositions relating drawing, painting, sculpture, sound, video, and silence. The artist works with simple materials (pigment, dust, ashes, terracotta or aluminum bowls, copper wire, stones, wood), different-sized speakers, video screens, and DVD players, which he assembles to create sculptures, sound objects or installations. These elements are taken apart and rearranged in various configurations, and thus over time, each work is transformed into as many compositions. A careful observer will understand the extent to which this process contributes to the continuity of a practice based on the exploration of visual and audio material, feeding off one another in an exchange of physical, aesthetic and symbolic properties. The combining of these elements expands on the idea that one can see, or touch a sound. Rolf Julius – Distance brings together works dating back to the beginning of the 1980’s. This is Rolf Julius’ first solo exhibit in Canada.

(+) Read more

R. Julius, 2005

Rolf Julius (born in 1939, Wilhelmshaven) studied art in Bremen and Berlin from 1961-69. In the mid-70s he began experimenting with contemporary music to further elucidate his perception of the visual. In 1979 Julius started to integrate sound and noise into his creative work and initiated his own tape compositions. He now lives and works in Berlin.

Nicole Gingras is an independent curator, researcher and author. The exhibitions, programming, texts, publications as well as the workshops she creates deal with time, the process of creation, traces, listening and memory. Her work and research have been presented in Quebec and internationally. She has collaborated with the Festival International du Film sur l’Art (FIFA) since 2003 where she has directed the FIFA Expérimental section. Nicole Gingras has been a lecturer in Concordia University’s Masters program since 2005. She lives in Montreal.

(+) Partner(s)

Rolf Julius Nicole Gingras Distance

Date(s) : 19 sep au 24 oct 2009

Exposition

R. Julius, 2005

Rolf Julius a élaboré depuis le début des années 1970 une série de propositions esthétiques qui lient le dessin, la peinture, la photographie, la sculpture, le son, la vidéo et le silence. L’artiste travaille à l’aide d’éléments simples (pigments, poussière, cendres, bols en terre cuite ou en aluminium, fil de cuivre, pierres, bois), de haut-parleurs de diverses dimensions, d’écrans vidéo, de lecteurs DVD qu’il assemble en sculptures, en objets sonores ou en installations. Ces éléments sont repris, déplacés et réarrangés en diverses combinaisons. Chaque œuvre se décline ainsi au fil du temps en autant de compositions. Un observateur attentif repérera à quel point cette manière de faire contribue à donner un aspect de continuité à une pratique reposant sur un processus d’exploration de la matière visuelle et sonore, se nourrissant l’une l’autre dans un échange de propriétés physiques, plastiques et symboliques. Tous ces éléments réunis servent à approfondir l’idée que l’on peut voir, toucher un son. Rolf Julius – Distance rassemble des œuvres réalisées depuis le début des années 1980. Il s’agit de la première exposition personnelle de l’artiste au Canada.

(+) Lire plus

R. Julius, 2005

Rolf Julius est né en 1939, à Wilhelmshaven, Allemagne; il a étudié l’art à Brême et à Berlin de 1961 à 1969. Au milieu des années 1970, il commence à explorer la musique contemporaine afin d’approfondir sa perception du langage visuel. Dès 1979, il intègre progressivement le son et le silence dans ses œuvres et entreprend ses compositions avec bandes magnétiques.

Nicole Gingras est est commissaire indépendante, chercheuse et auteure. Les expositions et les programmations dont elle est commissaire, les textes qu’elle signe, les publications sous sa direction ainsi que les séminaires qu’elle anime traitent du temps, des processus de création, des traces, de l’écoute et de la mémoire. Son travail et ses recherches rayonnent au Québec et sur la scène internationale. Elle collabore avec le Festival International du Film sur l’Art (FIFA) depuis 2003 et y dirige la section FIFA Expérimental.

(+) Partenaire(s)