Mélanie O’Bomsawin Senimikwaldamw8gan – Mémoire de pierre

Date(s): Jan 29 to Mar 5 2022

Location: Salle Daniel-Dion et Su Schnee

Exhibition

Stones have existed for millenia; the stones that have seen rivers being born and ancestors walk are still here. With Senimikwaldamw8gan – Mémoire de pierre, Mélanie O’Bomsawin pays homage to her grandfathers by exploring the notion of memory. The memory of those Before and the memory of those After, along with the memory of today. By positioning new technologies as tools for the preservation and transmission of her story, O’Bomsawin faces a dilemma regarding their reliability. Her land, the land of her grandfathers and their grandfathers before them, the land of her children and their grandchildren, is fragmented. Nevertheless, the artist carries the memories that created their land and allows the voices that were silenced by History echo.

(+) Read more

Video editor, digital media artist, tinkerer, geek and videographer, Mélanie O’Bomsawin works with video in all its forms. Using installations, projections and documentaries, she explores her relationships with the people who were there before her and those who will follow. Questions of identity, memory and knowledge transmission are at the centre of her practice. Mélanie is of w8banaki (Abenaki) and québécois descent, and she currently lives in Tiohtià:ke/Mooniyaang/Montréal. She makes art for past and future generations.

In an interview conducted by the OBORO team, Mélanie O’Bomsawin talks about her digital art practice, her family and her Abenaki and Quebecois identities in the context of her first solo exhibition, Senimikwaldamw8gan – Mémoire de pierre 

Mélanie O’Bomsawin, exhibition view Senimikwaldamw8gan – Mémoire de pierre, 2022. Photo: Paul Litherland⁠

Mélanie O’Bomsawin Senimikwaldamw8gan – Mémoire de pierre

Date(s) : 29 jan au 5 mar 2022

Lieu : Salle Daniel-Dion et Su Schnee

Exposition

Les pierres existent depuis des millénaires ; les pierres qui ont vu naître les rivières, et cheminer les ancêtres sont toujours là. Avec Senimikwaldamw8gan – Mémoire de pierre, Mélanie O’Bomsawin rend hommage à ses grands-pères en explorant la notion de mémoire. La mémoire de ceux d’Avant pour ceux d’Après, ainsi que la mémoire d’aujourd’hui. En positionnant les nouvelles technologies comme outils de préservation et de transmission de son histoire, O’Bomsawin fait face à un dilemme concernant leur fiabilité. Son territoire, celui de ses grands-pères et de leurs propres grand-pères, celui de ses enfants et de leurs petits-enfants, est morcelé. Néanmoins les souvenirs qui l’ont formé et les voix que l’Histoire n’a pas voulu entendre, l’artiste les porte et les fait résonner.

(+) Lire plus

Monteuse, artiste en nouveaux médias, patenteuse, geek et vidéaste, Mélanie O’Bomsawin travaille la vidéo sous toutes ses formes. C’est à travers des installations, des projections et des documentaires qu’elle explore ses liens avec celleux qui étaient là avant elle et celleux qui suivront. Les questions d’identité, de mémoire et de transmission du savoir sont au centre de sa pratique. Mélanie est d’origine w8banaki (abénakise) et québécoise, et vit présentement à Tiohtià:ke/Mooniyaang/Montréal. Elle crée pour les générations passées et celles à venir.

Dans une entrevue réalisée par l’équipe d’OBORO, Mélanie O’Bomsawin nous parle de sa pratique en arts numériques, sa famille et ses identités abénakise et québécoise dans le cadre de sa première exposition solo, Senimikwaldamw8gan – Mémoire de pierre.

Mélanie O’Bomsawin, vue de l’exposition Senimikwaldamw8gan – Mémoire de pierre, 2022. Photo : Paul Litherland⁠