Li Alin Greg Smith H.E.A.R.T.H.

Date(s): Oct 18 to Nov 15 2022

Residency

H.E.A.R.T.H.

H.E.A.R.T.H. is an interactive sound installation comprising 8 bass drums, 2 heartbeat sensors, and a live musical performance. The goal is to synchronize, monitor, and convert the data of the heartbeats of two people into hits on the bass drums. While participants listen to the beats, their heart rates should slowly synchronize and end up at the same tempo.

The research legacy of H.E.A.R.T.H. addresses contemporary questions on space contamination and the porosity of multiple dimensions. How does our invisible emotional field influence the space surrounding us? How does music influence our heartbeat? Is it possible to change our heart rate by simply hearing the pulse of someone else’s? For this residency at OBORO, Alin will work on developing a new iteration of the piece which will involve a live musical performance of rhythmic drum loops derived from the real-time input of two people connected to the heart-rate monitors. Alin collaborates with the artist Greg Smith, who was involved in the creation, production, and mixing of the H.E.A.R.T.H. vinyl, as well as the composition of the soundtrack of the installation.

H.E.A.R.T.H.

Li Alin is an artist in the field of art and new media. Her projects include a notorious internet sperm bank Eugenie supported by the Canada Council for the Arts in 1996 and the Canadian Cultural Center in Paris; the provocative sperm distribution Weisser Markt in the Zoologischer Stadtgarten Karlsruhe for the exhibition Menschenpark organized by the Staatliche Hochschule für Gestaltung directed by Peter Sloterdijk; EXPOSE, a 10screen installation created with Cecile Martin during Mutek 2014, co-presented by Recombinant Media Labs; the multidisciplinary performance Royal Mustang presented at La Chapelle, Contemporary Scenes developed at the Tanzhaus NRW in Düsseldorf, and her ovum and sperm recruiting session Eugenie 2.0 in the dome of the Society of Art and Technology in Montreal. More recently, her first VR installation, Enter Me Tonight (EMT) was presented at the Haus der Elektronischen Künste in Basel, at Cynetart in Dresden, at REpublica in Berlin and at Digifest in Toronto. Her second VR installation, V.DREAM was premiered internationally at the Digital Biennial in Montreal (BIAN) in 2018.  

nesthetik.com/lialin/index.html

Greg Smith is a Montrealbased guitarist, composer, studio engineer and stop-motion animator. As both a creator and technician, he has collaborated with a variety of artists including Li Alin, Loco Locass, Chris Velan, Mack MacKenzie, Maurice G. Dantec and Eyesteel Films. 

(+) Partner(s)

Li Alin Greg Smith H.E.A.R.T.H.

Date(s) : 18 oct au 15 nov 2022

Résidence

H.E.A.R.T.H.

Li Alin, 2022

H.E.A.R.T.H. est une installation sonore interactive comprenant 8 grosses caisses, 2 capteurs de rythme cardiaque et une performance musicale en direct. L’objectif est de synchroniser, de monitorer et de convertir les données des battements de cœur de deux personnes en coups sur les grosses caisses. Pendant que les participant.e.s écoutent les battements, leur rythme cardiaque devrait lentement se synchroniser, pour finir au même tempo.

Les recherches du projet H.E.A.R.T.H. abordent des questions contemporaines sur la contamination de l’espace et la porosité des dimensions multiples. Comment notre champ émotionnel invisible influence-t-il l’espace qui nous entoure ? Comment la musique influence-t-elle notre rythme cardiaque ? Est-il possible de changer notre rythme cardiaque en entendant simplement le pouls de quelqu’un d’autre ? Au cours de sa résidence à OBORO, Alin travaillera au développement d’une nouvelle itération de la pièce qui comprend une performance musicale en direct de loops de batterie rythmiques dérivés de l’entrée en temps réel de deux personnes connectées aux moniteurs de fréquence cardiaque. Elle collabore avec l’artiste Greg Smith, qui a participé à la création, à la production et au mixage du vinyle H.E.A.R.T.H., ainsi qu’à la composition de la bande sonore de l’installation.

H.E.A.R.T.H.

Li Alin, 2022

Li Alin est une artiste qui oeuvre dans le domaine de l’art et des nouveaux médias. Parmi ses projets, citons Eugénie, la fameuse banque de sperme web, soutenue par le Conseil des arts du Canada en 1996 et le Centre culturel canadien à Paris ; Weisser Markt, la provocante performance de distribution de sperme au Zoologischer Stadtgarten de Karlsruhe pour l’exposition Menschenpark organisée par la Staatliche Hochschule für Gestaltung dirigée par Peter Sloterdijk ; EXPOSE, son installation de 10 écrans vidéo créée avec Cécile Martin lors de Mutek 2014, coprésentée par Recombinant Media Labs ; sa performance pluridisciplinaire Royal Mustang présentée à La Chapelle, Scènes contemporaines développée au Tanzhaus NRW de Düsseldorf et sa séance de recrutement d’ovules et de spermatozoïdes Eugénie 2.0 dans le dôme de la Société des arts technologiques à Montréal. Plus récemment, sa première installation RV, Enter Me Tonight (EMT), a été présentée à la Haus der Elektronischen Künste de Bâle, à Cynetart de Dresde, à REpublica de Berlin et à Digifest de Toronto. Sa deuxième installation VR, V.DREAM, a été présentée en première internationale à la Biennale numérique de Montréal (BIAN) en 2018.

nesthetik.com/lialin/index.html

Greg Smith est un guitariste, compositeur, ingénieur de studio et animateur stop-motion basé à Montréal. En tant que créateur et technicien, il a collaboré avec une variété d’artistes, dont Li Alin, Loco Locass, Chris Velan, Mack MacKenzie, Maurice G. Dantec et Eyesteel Films. 

(+) Partenaire(s)