Martine Frossard Martine Frossard

Date(s): Sep 1st 2016 to Jun 30th 2017

Residency

M. Frossard, 2016

Artist Talk
May 25, 2017, at 5:30 pm

As part of the New Media Creation Grant for Young Artists, Frossard will develop a new installation that combines video and animation. The work will explore the dynamics of control and influence between individuals: the impact others have on us and that we have on them.

On a screen, a character bearing a neutral expression will face the viewer. The viewer’s presence will gradually affect the character’s mood, whose expressions will change while being inundated with all kinds of abstract and graphic shapes. Frossard will combine video clips, drawn animations, and sound to represent the character’s moods in this video animation.

M. Frossard, 2016

The work of multidisciplinary artist Martine Frossard is centred on illustration, animation, and interactive installation. She explores the quest for identity and the way in which individuality gets fragmented and reinvented across time and experience. Going beyond illustration, she uses video animation as a medium to animate the metamorphoses of her characters’ identities. At the same time, she creates participatory installations in which viewers are invited to undertake their own identity quests.

martinefrossard.com

(+) Partner(s)

Martine Frossard Martine Frossard

Date(s) : 1 sep 2016 au 30 jun 2017

Résidence

M. Frossard, 2016

Causerie
25 mai 2017, à 17 h 30

Dans le cadre de la Bourse de création en nouveaux médias pour artistes émergents, Martine Frossard travaillera à l’élaboration d’une installation conjuguant vidéo et animation. L’œuvre explorera les dynamiques de contrôle et d’influence qui existent entre les individus : l’influence des autres sur nous, et notre influence sur les autres.

Sur un écran, un personnage, à l’expression neutre, fera face au spectateur. La présence du spectateur influera sur les états d’âme du personnage de la vidéo. Changeant d’expressions, il sera submergé de formes abstraites et graphiques en tout genre. Par le biais de l’animation vidéo, Martine combinera extraits filmés, animations dessinées et extraits sonores pour représenter ces états d’âme.

M. Frossard, 2016

Artiste multidisciplinaire, le travail de Martine Frossard gravite autour de l’illustration, l’animation et l’installation participative. Son travail s’intéresse au concept de quête identitaire; la façon dont l’individualité se fragmente et se réinvente à travers le temps et les passages. Partant de l’illustration, elle utilise également l’animation vidéo comme médium pour donner vie aux métamorphoses identitaires de ses personnages. Parallèlement, elle crée des installations participatives où le spectateur est invité à entreprendre sa propre recherche identitaire.

martinefrossard.com

(+) Partenaire(s)