Swintak SOMETHING FOR NOTHING 4.0

Date(s): Mar 10th 2019 to Oct 23rd 2020

Residency

Swintak, 2020

In partnership with Caisse Desjardins du Plateau-Mont-Royal

During her residency, Swintak will be starting a new work: an absurdist interpretation of an online purchase supply chain, from desire and customization, to manufacturing and delivery. Amazon and other online marketplaces have spawned a global e-commerce boom that has fundamentally changed the way we shop: we buy whatever we want, wherever we want, whenever we want. At the same time, manufacturing has moved into an era termed Industry 4.0, where automation has been enhanced with smart autonomous systems fuelled by data and machine learning. Virtual shopping interfaces and augmented purchase decision processes have integrated with manufacturing to provide an endlessly evolving cycle of desire and consummation. 

Inspired by The Way Things Go, a 1987 art film by Peter Fischli and David Weiss that documents a long causal chain of everyday objects, the project aims to both illustrate and aesthetically explore key pressure points of human-machine integration in the online purchase supply chain. While personalization, efficiency and fast delivery are the perks of the user experience, the Internet of things has no empathy for the people producing them. Algorithmic bias should come as no surprise, as the systems are designed to create unfair outcomes privileging one group’s ideology over all others, mostly that of rich, white, capitalist men.

While in residency, Swintak will experiment with a range of media-based approaches. Her aim is to create elements that will be incorporated in a future large-scale installation. The artist will share the results of her at-home residency work as part of a public presentation which will be announced shortly.

(+) Read more

Swintak, 2020

Swintak is an interdisciplinary artist, educator and context-maker based in Montreal.

(+) Partner(s)

Swintak SOMETHING FOR NOTHING 4.0

Date(s) : 10 mar au 23 oct 2020

Résidence

Swintak, 2020

En partenariat avec la Caisse Desjardins du Plateau-Mont-Royal

Pendant sa résidence, Swintak amorcera un nouveau travail : une interprétation absurde d’une chaîne d’approvisionnement d’achat en ligne, du désir et de la personnalisation à la fabrication et la livraison. Amazon et d’autres marchés en ligne ont engendré un boom mondial du commerce électronique qui a fondamentalement changé notre façon de magasiner : nous achetons tout ce que nous voulons, où nous voulons et quand nous voulons. La fabrication est entrée dans une ère appelée « Industrie 4.0 », où l’automatisation est améliorée grâce à des systèmes autonomes intelligents alimentés par les données et le « Machine Learning ». Les interfaces d’achat virtuel et les processus de décision d’achat augmentés sont intégrés à la fabrication afin de créer un cycle de consommation en constante évolution.

Inspiré par Le cours des choses – un film d’art de Peter Fischli et David Weiss datant de 1987 documentant une longue réaction en chaîne d’objets du quotidien –, son projet vise à illustrer et à explorer esthétiquement les points clés de l’intégration de l’humain-machine à la chaîne d’approvisionnement d’achat en ligne. Alors que la personnalisation, l’efficacité et la livraison rapide sont les avantages de l’expérience utilisateur, l’Internet des choses n’a aucune empathie pour les personnes qui les produisent. Les préférences algorithmiques ne sont pas étonnantes puisque les systèmes sont conçus afin de créer des résultats inéquitables privilégiant l’idéologie d’un groupe sur tous les autres, surtout celle des hommes riches, blancs et capitalistes.

 Pendant sa résidence, Swintak expérimentera plusieurs approches médiatiques. Son intention est de créer les éléments qui seront ensuite intégrés à une installation de grande échelle. L’artiste partagera les résultats de son travail de résidence avec le public dans le cadre d’une présentation dont la date sera annoncée prochainement.

(+) Lire plus

Swintak, 2020

Swintak est une artiste interdisciplinaire, éducatrice et créatrice de contextes basée à Montréal.

(+) Partenaire(s)