Vishal Rawlley Voice Wave

Date(s): Mar 1 to Apr 30 2007

Residency

Vishal Rawlley in residence at OBORO in partnership with the Daniel Langlois Foundation for Art, Science and Technology

Vishal Rawlley (Mumbai, India) is in residence at OBORO’s New Media Lab from March 1 to April 30, 2007 to create a new project entitled Voice Wave, which consists of an egalitarian, interactive telephone and data system that encourages public expression on ecological and cultural issues in the city.

This is the second residency in the “Montreal Research and Experimental Residency Program for Professional Artists from Emerging Countries” jointly established by OBORO and the Daniel Langlois Foundation for Art, Science and Technology.

In 1995, Vishal Rawlley earned a diploma in film and video production from Xavier’s Institute of Communication in Bombay. He has served as director, executive producer and cameraman for several video documentaries. As a photographer, he has mounted a travelling exhibition dedicated to the victims of the Bhopal disaster. His projects in new media include: essays on hypertexuality; researching urban arts and crafts of Mumbai; Masala_X, a fictitious porno site commissioned by fictive.net in New York; Bombay Sonic, an interactive radio project; TyPoCiTy, funded by the Daniel Langlois Foundation; and Bombay-arts.com, which is the umbrella project that links all of his initiatives. In November 2002, he was curator for the Children’s Film Festival — dedicated to the exploration of new forms of teaching – organised by the Comet Media Foundation.

Vishal Rawlley Voice Wave

Date(s) : 1 mar au 30 avr 2007

Résidence

Vishal Rawlley en résidence à OBORO dans le cadre d’un partenariat avec la Fondation Daniel Langlois pour l’art, la science et la technologie.

Vishal Rawlley (Mumbai, Inde) est en résidence au Laboratoire nouveaux médias d’OBORO, du 1er mars au 30 avril 2007, afin de créer un nouveau projet intitulé Voice Wave (« Onde vocale » ou « Onde voix »), lequel consiste en un téléphone égalitaire et interactif et un système de données encourageant l’expression publique sur des questions écologiques et culturelles de la ville.

Ceci est la deuxième résidence du « Programme de résidences de recherche et d’expérimentation à Montréal pour les artistes professionnels des pays en émergence » mis sur pied conjointement par OBORO et la Fondation Daniel Langlois pour l’art, la science et la technologie.

Vishal Rawlley a reçu en 1995 un diplôme en production de film et de vidéo du Xavier’s Institute of Communication, Mumbai en Inde. Il a agi à titre de directeur, de producteur exécutif, de caméraman sur plusieurs projets de documentaires vidéo. En tant que photographe, il a monté une exposition itinérante consacrée aux victimes de la catastrophe de Bhopal. Ses projets en nouveaux médias comprennent des essais sur l’hypertextualité, de la recherche sur les arts et métiers d’art urbains de Mumbai; Masala_X, un site porno fictif (commande de fictive.net à New York), et Bombay Sonic, un projet radio interactif, TyPoCiTy (subventionné par la fondation Daniel Langlois) et Bombay-arts.com, qui est le projet cadre reliant toutes ses initiatives. En novembre 2002, il a été commissaire pour le Children’s Film Festival (un festival explorant de nouvelles formes d’éducation) organisé par la Comet Media Foundation.