John Boyle-Singfield Zen Maintenance

Date(s): Feb 1 to Apr 30 2013

Residency

J. Boyle-Singfield, 2013

Artist Talk
Thursday, April 18 at 5:30 pm

During his three months residency at OBORO, the artist will engage many experimentations on the technological monochrome, in order to isolate the economy and the hyper relational decadence of the contemporary art system.

John Boyle-Singfield works in a large range of medias, including video, sculpture, installation, painting, text and Internet. His use of techniques such as appropriation and hacking brings a critical thought in the domain of new media. Within all those transformations that form this new society of spectacle, Boyle-Singfield engages hybrid practices, conceptual pranks or readymade contexts that provokes and questions the status of art and its behavior in society.

J. Boyle-Singfield, 2013

John Boyle-Singfield was born in 1987. He holds a master’s degree from Concordia University and a bachelor’s degree from the University of Quebec at Chicoutimi. His work explores the desires and terrors of the enthropocene using an idiosyncratic practice that combines writing, film and the visual arts.

johnboylesingfield.net

John Boyle-Singfield Zen maintenance

Date(s) : 1 fév au 30 avr 2013

Résidence

J. Boyle-Singfield, 2013

Causerie
le jeudi 18 avril à 17 h 30

Pendant sa résidence de trois mois à OBORO, l’artiste entreprendra plusieurs expérimentations sur le monochrome technologique afin d’isoler l’économie et la décadence hyper relationnelle du système artistique contemporain.

John Boyle-Singfield travaille dans un large éventail de domaines, incluant la vidéo, la sculpture, l’installation, la peinture, le texte et l’Internet. Son approche axée sur l’appropriation et le détournement amène une réflexion critique à propos du domaine des nouveaux médias et des nouvelles technologies. À l’intérieur des transformations que génère cette nouvelle société du spectacle, Boyle-Singfield développe des pratiques hybrides, des contextes ready-made et des jeux conceptuels qui provoquent et questionnent le statut de l’art et son comportement en société.

J. Boyle-Singfield, 2013

John Boyle-Singfield est né en 1987. Il est titulaire d’une maîtrise à l’Université Concordia et d’un baccalauréat à l’Université du Québec à Chicoutimi. Son travail porte sur les désirs et les terreurs de l’enthropocène à l’aide d’une pratique idiosyncratique alliant l’écriture, le cinéma et les arts visuels.

johnboylesingfield.net