Diane Obomsawin Curator: Anne Golden Obom

Date(s): Feb 24 to Mar 25 2001

Exhibition

The world we enter through Diane Obomsawin’s tape-portals is one in which a nonchalant absurdity predominates. Characters—half human, half bug, or variations thereof—wander about in landscapes of illustration and cut-outs. In her brief, fast and funny/sad tapes painted-on-film, bibittes wander purposefully while completely lost. A boy transforms into a moose-child and viruses dance to bal musette. Her first video, L’abominable microbe, is set in a world on the edge of disaster. Objects are recognizable, but the era is harder to peg. Obomsawin borrows from decades past and present to make a planet-not-the-earth and a time-not-the-present.

(+) Read more

Diane Obomsawin (a.k.a. Obom) is well known for her illustrations, her participation in Peinture en direct at the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, her papier-mâché bug and beast sculptures, her work as a graphic designer and her videos. She lives in Montréal.

Anne Golden has been involved in the curation, distribution and production of independent video and film since 1985. Golden has been making videos since 1991. Her work includes Fat Chance (1994), Big Girl Town (1998) and Les aventures de Ponygirl (2000).

Diane Obomsawin Commissaire : Anne Golden Obom

Date(s) : 24 fév au 25 mar 2001

Exposition

L’univers qui nous accueille quand on traverse les bandes-portails de Diane Obomsawin est peuplé d’absurdités nonchalantes. Les personnages — mi-humain, mi-insecte, ou une variante de ceux-ci — se promènent dans un paysage fabriqué d’illustrations et de découpages. Dans ses courtes, drôles et tristes bandes, des bibittes peintes sur le film déambulent dans un but précis tout en étant complètement perdues, un garçon se transforme en enfant orignal et des virus dansent sur des airs de bal musette. Sa première vidéo, L’abominable microbe, est mise en scène dans un monde sur le bord de la catastrophe. Les objets sont reconnaissables mais l’ère est plus difficile à identifier. Obomsawin emprunte à des décennies antérieures et actuelles pour créer une planète-pas-la-terre et une période-pas-maintenant.

(+) Lire plus

Diane Obomsawin (alias Obom) est reconnue pour ses illustrations, sa participation aux événements de Peinture en direct au Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, ses insectes et ses monstres en papier mâché, son travail de designer et ses vidéos. Elle vit à Montréal.

Anne Golden œuvre dans le domaine de la distribution et de la production de films et de vidéos indépendants depuis 1985. Elle agit aussi comme commissaire et réalise des vidéos depuis 1991. Ses œuvres incluent Fat Chance (1994), Big Town Girl (1998) et Les aventures de Ponygirl (2000).