Ingrid Olivia Norrmén-Smith Untitled

Date(s): Oct 4 to Nov 1 2022

Residency

Untitled

Ingrid Olivia Norrmén-Smith

During this residency, Ingrid Olivia Norrmén-Smith will work on the development of a multimedia immersive installation of original and archival portraits of a house, a family, and a self, currently Untitled. The project is an at times playful, at times melancholic exploration of materiality and recollection in a cultural moment of planned obsolescence and digitally-mediated experience and memory.

Untitled is constituted by a constellation of moving and still images, stories, fragments, objects, and performance, woven together. The line between documentary and fiction is blurred: an indistinguishable blend of oral history, imperfect memory, linear and nonlinear timelines, all offering a commentary about memory and recollection, materiality, slowness, and living with technology.

(+) Read more
Untitled

Ingrid Olivia Norrmén-Smith

Ingrid Olivia Norrmén-Smith is a researcher, writer, and emerging filmmaker whose work engages with health, wellbeing, technology, and the psyche. Over the last decade, she has navigated multiple spheres and different lenses: the neurobiological, the phenomenological, the artistic. She is drawn to stories that explore recollection, human-technological relations, existential questions of expectation and that highlight the miraculous and banal idiosyncracies of human life. She is exploring these themes by way of intimate portraiture, nonlinear narrative, states of enchantment, and meditations on memory and time. Her multimedia work has been shown in Montréal, Los Angeles, Como, Italy and New York with upcoming work to be shown in London, England. She holds a B.S. in Neuroscience and an M.Sc. in Psychiatry. She is a Watson Fellow, a Pulitzer Center Fellow, and an alumnus of the Salt Institute. She was born in New York City, currently operating between Montréal and London. At present, Norrmén-Smith works in independent film production for award-winning, Montréal-based boutique production company, Catbird Productions. 

ingridolivia.com

(+) Partner(s)

Ingrid Olivia Norrmén-Smith Untitled

Date(s) : 4 oct au 1 nov 2022

Résidence

Untitled

Ingrid Olivia Norrmén-Smit

Pendant cette résidence, Ingrid Olivia Norrmén-Smith se penche sur le développement d’uneinstallation multimédia immersive composée d’images, originales et d’archives, d’une maison, d’une famille et d’elle-même, présentement sans titre. Le projet est une exploration tantôt ludique, tantôt mélancolique de la matérialité et du souvenir à un moment culturel où l’obsolescence est planifiée et où l’expérience et la mémoire sont transmises par voie numérique.

Untitled est un ensemble d’images mobiles et fixes, d’histoires, de fragments, d’objets et de performances, tissés ensemble. La frontière entre documentaire et fiction est floue : un mélange indiscernable d’histoire orale, de mémoire imparfaite, de lignes de temps linéaires et non linéaires, le tout offrant un commentaire sur la mémoire et le souvenir, la matérialité, la lenteur et la vie avec la technologie.

(+) Lire plus
Untitled

Ingrid Olivia Norrmén-Smit

Ingrid Olivia Norrmén-Smith est une chercheuse, écrivaine et réalisatrice émergente dont le travail porte sur la santé, le bien-être, la technologie et la psychologie. Au cours de la dernière décennie, elle a navigué dans de multiples sphères et sous différents angles : neurobiologique, phénoménologique et artistique. Elle est portée vers les histoires qui explorent le souvenir, les relations entre l’homme et la technologie, les questions existentielles d’attente et qui mettent en évidence les idiosyncrasies miraculeuses et banales de la vie humaine. Elle explore ces thèmes par le biais du portrait intime, de la narration non linéaire, des états d’enchantement et des méditations sur la mémoire et le temps. Ses œuvres multimédias ont été présentées à Montréal, Los Angeles et New York et seront bientôt exposées à Côme, en Italie, et à Londres, en Angleterre. Elle est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en neurosciences du Bates College et d’une maîtrise en psychiatrie de la Division de psychiatrie sociale et transculturelle de l’Université McGill. Elle est également titulaire d’une bourse Thomas J. Watson, d’une bourse du Pulitzer Center Reporting et d’une bourse du Salt Institute for Documentary Studies. Norrmén-Smith travaille actuellement dans le domaine de la production pour Catbird Productions, une boutique de production montréalaise primée. 

ingridolivia.com

(+) Partenaire(s)