Anahita Norouzi Systema Naturae 

Date(s): Feb 4 to Mar 11 2023

Location: Salle Daniel-Dion et Su Schnee

Exhibition

Systema Naturae 

Anahita Norouzi, view from the installation Systema Naturae, 2021-2022

Systema Naturae is a multipart installation by artist Anahita Norouzi that includes large-scale fabric prints, a sculpture, and a series of time-lapse video works. It investigates how the production of knowledge guided by a colonial mindset has disfigured nature, created artificial landscapes and skewed relationships between humans and plants, and how these effects remain pervasive to this day.

The project stems from a commemorative stamp Norouzi received as a child from her uncle. It depicts an iris flower native to Iran, her home country, with its dark, pure purple color and majestic forms. In 1902, a specimen of this iris was collected on Mount Damavand, at the northeast of her hometown, Tehran, by J. Bornmuller, a German botanist and expeditionist. He named the flower Iris Demawendica and published his “discovery” in the Gardeners’ Chronicle. Nowadays, genetically modified bulbs of Iris Demawendica are globally mass-produced for ornamental purposes, severing the flower from its vernacular name, traditional herbal uses, and overall cultural history.

(+) Read more
Systema Naturae 

Anahita Norouzi, view from the installation Systema Naturae, 2021-2022

Anahita Norouzi is a multidisciplinary artist, originally from Tehran and active in Montreal since 2015. She holds advanced degrees in Fine Arts and French Literature from Concordia University in Montreal. Her research explores notions of displacement, memory and identity from a psycho-historical point of view.

Norouzi excavates historical narratives in order to consider the global impact of colonialism and how it permeates contemporary culture. Instigated by marginalized or forgotten histories, her work is articulated across a range of materials and mediums including sculpture, installation, photography, video, and performance. 

Norouzi has taken part in several individual and collective exhibitions. She is the recipient of the Grantham Foundation Award, the Liz Crockford Artist Fund Award, the Vermont Studio Center Merit, and a finalist for the Magic of Persia Contemporary Art Prize for pieces shown at the Royal College of Art in London and in Dubai.  

anahitanorouzi.com

Anahita Norouzi Systema Naturae 

Date(s) : 4 fév au 11 mar 2023

Lieu : Salle Daniel-Dion et Su Schnee

Exposition

Systema Naturae 

Anahita Norouzi, vue de l’installatio Systema Naturae, 2021-2022.

Systema Naturae est une installation en multiples volets de l’artiste Anahita Norouzi qui comprend des impressions sur tissu à grand format, une sculpture et une série d’œuvres vidéo en accéléré. Ce travail examine les façons dont la production de connaissances liée à une mentalité coloniale défigure la nature, crée des paysages artificiels et déforme les relations entre les humains et les plantes, et comment ces effets perdurent à ce jour.

Le projet trouve son origine dans un timbre commémoratif offert à Norouzi par son oncle lorsqu’elle était enfant. Il représente une fleur d’iris originaire d’Iran, le pays d’origine de l’artiste, de couleur violette foncée et pure, aux formes majestueuses. En 1902, un spécimen de cet iris est prélevé sur le mont Damavand, au nord-est de la ville natale de Norouzi, Téhéran, par J. Bornmuller, botaniste et expéditionnaire allemand. Il nomme la fleur Iris Demawendica et publie sa « découverte » dans le Gardeners’ Chronicle. Aujourd’hui, les bulbes génétiquement modifiés d’Iris Demawendica sont produits en masse dans le monde entier à des fins ornementales, privant la fleur de son nom vernaculaire, de ses utilisations traditionnelles à titre d’herbe et de son histoire culturelle globale.

(+) Lire plus
Systema Naturae 

Anahita Norouzi, vue de l’installatio Systema Naturae, 2021-2022.

Anahita Norouzi est une artiste multidisciplinaire, originaire de Téhéran et qui travaille à Montréal depuis 2015. Elle est titulaire de diplômes de deuxième cycle en beaux-arts et en littérature française de l’Université Concordia à Montréal.Ses recherches explorent les notions de déplacement, de mémoire et d’identité d’un point de vue psycho-historique.  

Norouzi explore les récits historiques afin d’examiner l’impact global du colonialisme et la façon dont il imprègne la culture contemporaine. Inspiré d’histoires marginalisées ou oubliées, son travail s’articule autour d’un éventail de matériaux et de supports, notamment la sculpture, l’installation, la photographie, la vidéo et la performance.  

Norouzi a pris part à plusieurs expositions individuelles et collectives. Elle est lauréate du Grantham Foundation Award, du Liz Crockford Artist Fund Award, du Vermont Studio Center Merit, et finaliste du Magic of Persia Contemporary Art Prize pour des pièces présentées au Collège royal d’art de Londres et à Dubaï.  

anahitanorouzi.com