Caroline Monnet Amik(waa)

Date(s): Nov 8 to Dec 10 2010

Residency

C. Monnet, 2010

Concert-Artist Talk

Thursday, December 9, 2010 at 6 pm
$10

Amik(waa): holder

Caroline Monnet is a multidisciplinary artist in residence at OBORO. During her residency, she will produce Amik(waa), a multimedia installation investigating the connections between the scientific knowledge of her Algonquin ancestry — the Beaver Clan — and the natural world.

Caroline Monnet will build a geometric structure that, much like the ceremonial lodges from which she draws inspiration, is conceived to blur the lines between the past, the present and the future. Taking on the traditional shape of an eight-cornered star, this sculptural audio-visual installation will open a platform for exploration, across generations and cultures, through the physical and the metaphysical worlds.

(+) Read more

C. Monnet, 2010

Caroline Monnet is a multidisciplinary artist from Outaouais, currently based in Montreal. She studied in both Sociology and Communication at the University of Ottawa (Canada) and the University of Granada (Spain) before pursuing a career in visual arts and films. Monnet is an alumnus of the Berlinale Talent Campus and TIFF Talent Lab 2016. Her films have been shown at numerous festivals around the world, including TIFF, Sundance, and Les Rencontres internationales.

carolinemonnet.ca

(+) Partner(s)

Caroline Monnet Amik(waa)

Date(s) : 8 nov au 10 déc 2010

Résidence

C. Monnet, 2010

Concert-Causerie

le jeudi 9 décembre 2010 à 18 h
10$

Amik(waa) : porteur

L’artiste multidisciplinaire Caroline Monnet est en résidence à OBORO afin de réaliser Amik(waa), une installation multimédia qui met à jour les liens unissant les connaissances scientifiques de ses ancêtres algonquins du clan du Castor au monde naturel.

Caroline Monnet construira une structure géométrique qui, comme les loges cérémonielles dont elle s’inspire, est conçue pour brouiller les limites entre le passé, le présent et le futur. Reprenant la forme traditionnelle de l’étoile à huit pointes, cette installation sculpturale, vidéo et sonore, ouvrira ainsi la voie au voyage entre les générations et les cultures, et entre les mondes physiques et métaphysiques.

(+) Lire plus

C. Monnet, 2010

Caroline Monnet est une artiste multidisciplinaire de l’Outaouais. Après des études en sociologie et en communication à l’Université d’Ottawa (Canada) et à l’Université de Grenade (Espagne), elle poursuit une carrière en arts visuels et cinéma. Elle est basée à Montréal. Monnet est alumnus du Berlinale Talent Campus et du TIFF Talent Lab 2016. Ses courts métrages ont été sélectionnés dans plusieurs festivals, dont le TIFF, Les Rencontres Internationales et Sundance. Elle est nominée aux prix écrans canadiens pour Roberta et Tshiuetin.

carolinemonnet.ca

(+) Partenaire(s)