Nik Forrest Wild Intimacy

Date(s): Aug 7 to Sep 4 2018

Residency

Nik Forrest, View of the piece Picture for Listening presented as part of Faire des histoires, VOX – Centre de l’image contemporaine, 2015. Photo: Paul Litherland

What is the nature of our perceptual contact with the world, and how do we attune to our shared environment? Since 2010, my creative practice has explored ways to bring into awareness that which is ordinarily imperceptible. The title for the work at OBORO, Wild Intimacy, refers to the unpredictable relations between light and sound that proliferate throughout the ecology of the installation.

Light emanates out from the screen to touch the sound, and sound moves around the space sometimes appearing to come from the image, sometimes from other sources that reach back towards the image. The projected image hovers on the wall like a floating screen, not fully fixed in one position.

(+) Read more

Nik Forrest, View of the piece Picture for Listening presented as part of Faire des histoires, VOX – Centre de l’image contemporaine, 2015. Photo: Paul Litherland

Nik Forrest is a visual and media artist, born in Edinburgh and based in Montreal. Their practice includes drawing, installation, and sound. They are best known for their short experimental videos which have shown at festivals, galleries, and museums throughout North America and Europe.

Interview by ffiles radio with Edinburgh-born, Montreal-based visual & media artist Nik Forrest leading up to their Wild Intimacy exhibition at OBORO for POP Montreal. Their practice includes drawing, installation, and sound.

Nik Forrest Wild Intimacy

Date(s) : 7 aoû au 4 sep 2018

Résidence

Nik Forrest, Vue de l’oeuvre Pictures for Listening présentée dans le cadre de Faire des histoires, VOX – Centre de l’image contemporaine, 2015. Photo : Paul Litherland

Quelle est la nature de notre contact perceptuel avec le monde, et comment nous harmonisons-nous dans notre environnement partagé? Depuis 2010, ma pratique explore les façons de diriger l’attention sur ce qui d’ordinaire est imperceptible. Le titre de mon œuvre en production à OBORO, Wild Intimacy, se rapporte à l’imprédictibilité des relations entre la lumière et le son, qui prolifèrent dans l’environnement de l’installation.

La lumière émane de l’écran pour rencontrer le son qui circule dans l’espace et semble parfois provenir de la vidéo, et à d’autres moments, de sources extérieures orientées vers elle. Les images projetées survolent les murs de la pièce, tel un écran flottant se mouvant librement.

(+) Lire plus

Nik Forrest, Vue de l’oeuvre Pictures for Listening présentée dans le cadre de Faire des histoires, VOX – Centre de l’image contemporaine, 2015. Photo : Paul Litherland

Nik Forrest est un.e artiste né.e à Edinburgh et basé.e à Montréal dont la pratique se décline par la vidéo, le son, le dessin et les projets d’installation. Ses vidéos expérimentales ont été diffusées dans plusieurs festivals, galeries et musées en Amérique du Nord et en Europe.

Entretien par ffiles radio avec Nik Forrest, artiste visuel et médiatique né à Édimbourg et basé à Montréal, en vue de son exposition Wild Intimacy à OBORO pour POP Montréal. Sa pratique comprend le dessin, l’installation et le son.